Bo’s Blog – All About Tradition

By Bo Carter


Talk about your traditional college football programs…

Both Army West Point and San Diego State bring in rich traditions on the college gridirons and a total of 32 National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame players and coaches to the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl.

Army, bidding to win its third bowl game at three different DFW Metroplex venues, has 28 Hall of Famers – third only to Notre Dame and Southern California among all schools’ inductees. The Black Knights edged SMU 16-14 in the 2010 LMAFB contest played at SMU’s Ford Stadium due to construction at TCU’s Amon Carter Stadium, and then topped North Texas 38-31 in overtime last December at historic Cotton Bowl Stadium in Dallas. The Black Knights are 4-2 all-time in bowls after breaking its longtime postseason ban with the 1984 Cherry Bowl.

Names such as 1945 Heisman Trophy winner Doc “Mr. Inside” Blanchard and ’46 recipient Glenn “Mr. Outside” Davis from three consecutive Army national championship teams with a 27-0-1 mark from 1944-46 dot that Army West Point Hall of Fame roster along with 1956 Heisman winner Pete Dawkins.

San Diego State, making its first appearance at a Texas bowl after going 8-7 in 15 previous postseason bouts since 1948, continues to build on a program that began as two-year college program from 1921-35, had great years in the smaller college California Collegiate Athletic Association from 1936-68 with a mythical small college national crown in 1966, and jumped into full-scale NCAA Division I-A (now FBS) status in 1979.

Some familiar standouts such as George Brown (who also starred at Brown and Navy), coach Don "Air" Coryell, television and NFL star Fred Dryer, and 2017 NFF College Hall of Fame inductee Marshall Faulk all grace the hallowed football halls of the HoF building in Atlanta. And they may have Aztec company in the future, as running back Rashaad Penny leads NCAA FBS with 2,027 rushing yards on 275 carries with 19 touchdowns prior to 2017-18 bowl season.

Army’s other 25 Hall inductees outside the Heisman Trophy winners are Bob Anderson, NFF College Hall of Fame tri-founder coach Earl "Red" Blaik, Paul Bunker, Chris "Red" Cagle, Bill "The Lonely End" Carpenter, Charlie Daly, Arnold Galiffa, Ed Garbisch, Jack Green, Vietnam War hero Don Holleder, Harvey Jablonsky, coach Lawrence "Biff" Jones, Doug Kenna, Cap McEwan, Frank Merritt, Robin Olds, Ollie Oliphant, Barney Poole, Bud Sprague, Joe Steffy, Arnold Tucker, Alex "Babe" Weyand, Henry Williams, Harry Wilson, and coach Jim Young.

It adds up to a long cavalcade of traditional greats for the 9-3 Black Knights and 10-2 Aztecs can aspire to be in the upcoming Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl.


Bo’s Bonus Bit:

Below is a list of players who played in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl as well as the Super Bowl.


LMAFB Bowl Participants in Super Bowl

Air Force – Chad Hall (2007), 49ers 2013 (did not play, on full-roster squad)

Boise State – Ryan Clady (2003), Broncos 2014; Darryn Colledge (2004), Packers 2011

California – Syd’Quan Thompson (2007), Broncos 2014

Houston – Sebastian Vollmer (2005), Patriots 2012, 2016

Kansas – Chris Harris (2005), Broncos 2016

Marshall – Ahmad Bradshaw (2004), Giants 2011, 2012

Rice – Luke Willson (2012), Seattle 2014, 2015

Utah – Zane Beadles (2006), Broncos 2014; Paul Kruger (2006), Ravens 2013