The Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl

The Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl celebrated the 14th anniversary of its postseason college football bowl game on December 23, 2016 with it's best game yet: a 48-45 thriller with Lousiana Tech prevailing over Navy on a field goal as time expired. This year we strive for more in our 15th game, and are set to host Conference USA and Army West Point, pending bowl eligibility. 

Owned and operated by ESPN Events, the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl has featured the “armed forces” theme since 2006. Patriotic overtones recognizing all five branches of the service are prevalent throughout the game. Past Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowls have included fan-fest areas showcasing armed forces hardware; flyovers; demonstrations by several of the military's top skydiving teams; the awarding of custom homes to wounded warriors; on-field induction ceremonies; armed forces bands and honor guards and the awarding of the annual "Great American Patriot Award" (GAPA) presented by Armed Forces Insurance.

Lockheed Martin joined the bowl on February 5, 2014 as the title sponsor of the postseason college football game formerly known as the Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl (2006 - 2013). In 2016, Lockheed Martin committed to an extension of their title sponsorship through the 2019 game. 

14th Annual Result: Louisiana Tech Bulldogs 48 vs. U.S. Naval Academy 45

The Winning Kick

Louisiana Tech kicker Jonathan Barnes hit a 32-yard field goal as time expired, giving the Bulldogs the 48-45 win over Navy in the 2016 Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl. The game featured an offensive explosion, setting Armed Forces Bowl records for highest point total (surpassing last year's game) and most combined offensive yards with 956. La Tech WR Trent Taylor was named the Bulldogs' MVP, hauling in 12 catches for 233 yards and two touchdowns. The man throwing Taylor the ball, Ryan Higgins, finished the night with 409 passing yards and led the Bulldogs to their third straight bowl win. This was Louisiana Tech's first appearance in Fort Worth, and the team certainly made a statement to grab its first victory. 

Past Results:


2003 2004 2005 2006   2007 2008 2009 2010 2011  2012 2013 2014  2015
TCU 31 
Boise St. 34
Cincinnati 32
Marshall 14
Houston 13
Kansas 42
Tulsa 13
Utah 25
Cal 42
Air Force 36
Houston 34
Air Force 28
Houston 20
Air Force 47
Army 16
SMU 14 
BYU 24
Tulsa 21
Rice 33
Air Force 14
Navy 24
Pitt 34
U of H 35
Cal 55
Air Force 36